News and Notes


Published in December Issue             

Applications Being Accepted to Become a Fellow of ASMBS

Attention ASMBS members, the society is now accepting applications to become a Fellow of ASMBS (FASMBS). The designation of Fellow may be bestowed upon any regular member in good standing with the ASMBS for a minimum of two years. The member must also complete a minimum of 25 ASMBS approved bariatric surgeries a year as the primary surgeon and currently practice in an American College of Surgeons accredited center that submits data to Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery Accreditation and Quality Improvement Program (MBSAQIP). To learn more about becoming a Fellow of ASMBS and to submit your application, click here.

Join the Debate, Jan. 18, 2017! Staple Line Reinforcement: Pros & Cons?

The ASMBS Communications Committee will host its first surgeon debate of the New Year on Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2017 at 7p.m. ET! During the hour-long live webinar titled, “Staple Line Reinforcement: To be or not to be,” Dr. Scott Shikora will present the pros of using staple line reinforcement and opposing him will be Dr. Peter Billing who will offer the cons. The debate will be moderated by communications committee member Dr. Valerie Halpin and Committee Chair Dr. Daniel Herron. Bring your questions, because after the debate participants will be able to join the conversation. Click here to register by Jan. 17, 2017.

Congratulations to the ASMBS Quality Improvement and Patient Safety Committee – 2016 Committee of the Year!

Each year the ASMBS Executive Council selects a “Committee of the Year” to acknowledge exemplary achievements and recognize the hard work and dedication of its members. This year, council members voted the Quality Improvement and Patient Safety (QIPS) Committee as the 2016 Committee of the Year. The QIPS Committee was chosen for accomplishments including the development of the first national clinical pathway “The Care Pathway for Sleeve Gastrectomy,” which will be published in SOARD in early-2017; the creation of the ASMBS Closed Claims Registry, and its role in the development of the newly available Essentials App. Congratulations to Committee Chair Dr. Eric DeMaria, Committee Co-Chair Dr. Dana Telem and all of this year’s committee members!